It’s Not Just a Game

She's aiming at you, Trolls.

She’s aiming at you, trolls.

I am not what most would consider a ‘hardcore gamer’, or at least I wouldn’t describe myself as such.

But I’ve enjoyed playing computer games for most of my life, starting with perennial favorite Oregon Trail and moving on to other timeless classics like Carmen Sandiego. When I got older I started playing – and, even though I wasn’t really the target audience, actually enjoying – my dad’s military-oriented games like 688 Attack Sub (I liked to be contrarian and play the Russians) and F-14 Tomcat. When I was maybe 12 or 13 I found my true gaming niche, in the form of a buggy, crash-to-desktop-prone RPG with lame graphics and a cheesy MIDI soundtrack called Darklands. It was a fantasy RPG (er, that means ‘Role Playing Game’ for the uninitiated) set during the Holy Roman Empire, with a massive area to traverse and enough random encounters and side quests to keep you busy enough to forget there was actually a main plot you were supposed to complete (which I never did), and it was awesome.  From there it was Diablo and Diablo 2 (I’d love to play Diablo 3 if I thought my weedy laptop could run it), Baldur’s Gate, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and a loooooooong stint playing Neverwinter Nights. I currently run around pretending to be an Elf on Dungeons & Dragons Online (that’s one of my alter egos in the picture up there, and she’ll totally kick your ass). 

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I enjoy gaming. It’s not, like, my life. I don’t know everything about every game, and there are loads that I’ve never played. That’s why I don’t call myself ‘hardcore’. But I take an interest in gaming and I know a bit of what I’m talking about.

Which is why it brings me no pleasure to say I’ve been following the so-called #GamerGate controversy with increasing  levels of exasperation and despair. If you don’t know what I’m referring to, just google it, read up, and prepare to facepalm. Or cry. Or break something. What began as essentially an exercise in good old-fashioned slut-shaming under the guise of ‘ethics in journalism’ has metastasised into a depressing mass of harassment, bullying, and your standard-issue rape and death threats – aimed predominantly at women – in an attempt to silence them and, it seems, drive them out of the gaming community altogether. See, these harpies have, like, opinions, man. Opinions that differ from these cretins who call themselves ‘gamers’. Opinions like: ‘I sometimes feel unwelcome in the gaming community because of x, y, and z, and I’d like to see things change,’ or ‘If your true aim is to push for more transparency in games journalism, maybe you should focus on that and stop harassing women,’ or ‘I love games and the gaming community but sometimes it can be a little misogynist.’ And what better way to prove that these women are wrong than to call them a stupid cunt and threaten to rape them? Or wait until one of them writes an honest, thoughtful blog post about how she’s hesitant to talk about #GamerGate because she’s afraid she’ll get doxxed… and then doxx her? It’s all in the name of ethics in games journalism!

My own experience with gaming has admittedly been generally positive; I’ve never in my lifetime of gaming been subjected to any hardcore harassment or bullying, and I’ve never been threatened with rape or murder (apart from the occasional PK), in-game or otherwise. Maybe it’s the types of games I play; maybe pointy-eared fantasy nerds are just inherently more egalitarian? Or maybe it’s because in the past when I played online I tended to avoid groups and preferred to go solo, or if I did play in a party it was usually with people I knew (these days I play online exclusively with my husband). Or was it because I never used voice chat and didn’t announce my gender, so people just assumed I was a guy? Whatever the reason, I’ve come to realise that I’ve probably just been really lucky, and that my experience as a female gamer may very well be somewhat of an anomaly.

But this hasn’t been the experience of other women. I’ve read countless articles and blog posts describing how they’ve been threatened and harassed. How they’ve been driven from their homes and forced to cancel events. How they’ve had enough of the abuse and just straight-up quit. This is happening to them because they have an opinion and the audacity to voice it. This is happening because a contingent of woman-hating troglodytes within the gaming community don’t like what these women are saying, and would rather they just shut the fuck up and play. Or better yet, get the fuck out. This is happening under the guise of a ‘progressive’ hashtag movement. This was happening long before there was a hashtag for it.

Before I started playing DDO, I spent countless hours in an online game world for Neverwinter Nights. It was (and still is) created and maintained by one guy in his home, the world was vast and detailed and fun, and it was inhabited by a relatively small group of friendly and supportive gamers. If you wanted to roleplay, that was cool. If you wanted to skip all the talking and just kill goblins, that was fine too. Like crafting skimpy battle thongs for your female assassin character? You could do that. Prefer actual armor that covers your ass? No problem! Both guys and girls played on the server, and I witnessed no blatant misogyny or harassment. People helped each other and offered advice to newbies, but you were also left to your own devices if you chose, free to explore the world on your own terms. It was all the good things about gaming wrapped up into one brilliantly designed realm, and I actually formed online friendships with several of the players. It was a real gaming community.

And that just goes to show what a gaming community can be, without hateful trolls ruining everything. It’s proof that gamers aren’t a bunch of mouth-breathing monsters; they’re actually really awesome people.

I know that there are people within the #GamerGate movement who aren’t misogynist dickfaces. I believe that they genuinely are concerned about ethics, and they want to implement positive change within the games community. But they have unfortunately aligned themselves with a disingenuous movement which doesn’t give a shit about ethics, and is using it as a cover to continue spewing hatred and abuse. It doesn’t matter if these trolls are a minority within #GG; they’ve already done enough damage to completely sully the name, like it or not. So if you want things to change, if you believe that the gaming community should be a safe and inclusive place for everyone, you should be backing the hell away from #GG. Supporting the movement – however well-intentioned it may be – won’t help, because it’s too late. It’s poison. It’s Kryptonite. Talk to the hand. Nothing to see here.

And we should be speaking out against these assholes, these angry, spiteful bullies who have nothing better to do than destroy their community from the inside. We should be saying, ‘Look, this kind of behavior isn’t cool, it’s fucking disgusting and it isn’t welcome here.’ We should be talking about what we can do to actually make things better and more inclusive for everyone. We should be leading by example, so those on the outside can see the kind of decent, awesome people most gamers surely are. Fuck #GamerGate, start a real movement! We can’t ignore the trolls and hope they go away. Feed the trolls, stuff them full of counter-argument and riposte, and show them who the real gamers are. They don’t deserve the title of ‘gamer’.

4 thoughts on “It’s Not Just a Game

  1. Prof.mcstevie

    Unfortunately it is a rare instance for there to be public celebrations of positivity outside of small forums and the like, there really should be a section on every media site for highlighting the positive aspects of the day or week.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Amethyst Post author

      Unforunately ‘Gamers Play Nice, No One Gets Hurt’ as a headline isn’t as exciting or clickworthy, and particularly for ‘ordinary people’ outside of the gaming community, their only impressions of gamers are going to come from the bad press. Which is why I think the best chance we have is for people to keep speaking out against it, use the powers of the internet for Good. People *will* read it and they *will* notice – we just have to shout louder than the trolls.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Prof.mcstevie

        A consorted effort to create a swell of chatter around the joys and positives of our medium does seem viable. However I see this as something that will be a follow the leader ordeal, somebody has to start it up first but dammit we are gonna keep poking all the websites and what have you to embrace the joys not just the clickbaits and hot topics.

        Like

  2. boundinawalnut

    If you look at the #gamergate message-boards it looks more than anything like the majority are just assholes (no judgy, just what it looks like — I am sure they are all their own particular brands of beautiful snowflakes(. However, I really would like to point out that the hatred and vindictiveness that passes between the masculinist, masculist, feminist and femininist communities does no-one any favours. My personal experience has been that when I try to reconcile both sides and take things situationally I get ganged up on and whatever group I happen to be in at the time attempt to bully or shame me into silence. On the internet that tends to be feminists because they almost completely control the internet dialogue and are often very difficult to get to listen to actual arguments instead of strawman and broad-brush categories of argument (#notallfeminists). Offline it’s more of a mix, though it has to be said that as one guy in a large group of guys people tend to tread more subtly just because there’s a chance of getting your teeth kicked in (I don’t, but I’m a fucking idiot) — something which I guess the internet dialogue sort of counterbalances, though not in a good way, IMO. One other thing I have noticed is that sometimes, when I’m not thinking or just had it up to here with getting screamed at for attempting to put forward multiple possible perspective, I tend to end up backed into a position where I end up supporting things I don’t fully believe, just because gender-crusades of either stripe as so adamant they must go with other opinions you how, and it only takes a single slip — which is very dangerous given the nature of some of the things that get discusses. For me this also roots from frustration at other people being unwilling to listen and also from what traces of tribalism in myself which I am still trying to rid myself of (tribalism is by far the biggest societal problem at the moment, but that’s a different story…). However, I can’t help but feel if people stopped going into things with a preconceived theoretical perspective and considered every issue on their merits that might be avoided. On the flip-side people would probably be a lot more confused (I certainly am more of the time). These aren’t really direct criticisms of the article, btw, which is pretty decent. Just things on my mind…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

