Getting Back Up, Brushing off the Dust…

‘Out of the ash

I rise with my red hair*

And I eat men like air.**’

-Sylvia Plath, Lady Lazarus

 

So I haven’t updated this blog in over a year, which I think technically means I let it die (oops). Chalk it up to plain old laziness – it’s just so much less work to read other peoples’ blogs and share them with my friends instead of creating the content myself. Also I really like to spend my free time playing computer games with my husband.

But I want to try to be less lazy. The reason I created this thing was to give myself a productive outlet, a place to express some of the ideas that insist on roiling around in my mind, a place to contibute to the types of conversations I enjoy having and reading about, a place to leave swear-filled rants when I encounter stuff that pisses me off. So I’m going to resurrect the blog.

I was recently embroiled in an online rage-fest from a guy being an asshole  debate about feminist issues, which I usually try to avoid, because I just don’t have time for that shit, but this time I couldn’t keep myself out of it. And though he kept insisting he wanted to have a discussion, badgering me to reply to him, the guy in question clearly wasn’t interested in actually listening to what I had to say. In the end, I did what I imagine lots of women do in this situation – I refused to engage. I ignored him. I briefly thought about deleting my initial post that had spawned the whole thing, just to make it stop. But fuck that. Guys like him want women to shut up, to stop talking about feminist issues and asking to be listened to and considered, unless we’re willing to ‘tone it down’ or ‘stop being irrational man-haters’ – essentially, to have the debate on their terms, following their rules. But again I say fuck that. I won’t shut up. I’m going to keep talking about it, and this is where I’m going to do it.

* My hair is actually blonde, but whatever.

** I don’t really eat men. I’m a vegetarian!

2 thoughts on “Getting Back Up, Brushing off the Dust…

  1. Christopher Slater

    My question to you is do you at least give someone the chance to display their ignorance so that you can contradict them first?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Amethyst Post author

      I wouldn’t straight up refuse to debate with someone out of hand, as I know that’s not really helpful and gets no one anywhere. I did try to engage with him in what I felt was a reasonably calm and polite manner, but things devolved pretty quickly and it became apparent that I was just banging my head against a wall, so I chose to ignore him. For the record I’ve known this guy for about a decade, and have had several (rather heated) arguments about feminism with him, each pretty much ending the same way. The whole thing is on my Facebook page, if you’re interested.

      I plan on writing a more detailed post about this at the weekend when I have more time.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

